WHEN I GOT DRUNK!!!!

bar-scene - pixcooler.com

It was a cold snowy night when I hurriedly made my way on a wet slippery sidewalk through a crowd of impatient people trying desperately to avoid the gently falling snow accompanied by the drizzling rain. Huddled under a waterproof hoodie, I looked like a gangster heading for an urgent gang meeting, someone you’d find smoking in a dark alley and would not want to meet up with. But in reality I actually am a normal boy next door working for a small IT startup and I had just gotten off from a hard day’s work writing code for mobile application.

A group of friends from work had decided to meet up in a local pub for an early Christmas celebration and I was already late for the “party”. As I hurried past the brightly lit stores and a bunch of happy shoppers, I heard a voice behind me, “Hey man, you’re phone’s ringing”. Amidst all the confusion of getting to the pub on time, I hadn’t heard my phone ring. Shivering with cold, I took a quick refuge in a small garment store, just to check who was bothering me at a time when I all wanted was to be with friends and enjoy the rest of the evening. It was my dad calling, something that he did once a week on a constant urging by mum.

I spoke to him for a quick 5 minutes, giving brief details and promising a call back the following day after which I hurried out of the store and quickly made my way to the pub, which, I now realize, was just round the corner. I was greeted by a waft of cigarette smoke and a slap on my back, it was Steve. “Hey bud, what took you so long?” I could see he was already a couple of or maybe even more drinks down. He had already started slurring and was also staggering while walking towards the bar where the rest of the gang were comfortably perched and waving wildly. One look at those guys confirmed that something was definitely wrong because they looked as if they were up to something mischievous.

buddha_bar_restaurant_gal_07_lounge_bar_1300x867 - www.worldwideweirdnews.com

I quietly climbed onto a bar stool and requested for a coke. Little did I know that an order on my behalf had already been given to the bartender and with a smile which said, you really don’t know what you’re in for, he handed me what was supposed to be a tall glass of a harmless soft drink. An hour later and almost 3 glasses of “coke” down, I found my self-sweating and light headed. As much as I cursed myself for letting my friends spike my drink, I secretly liked the feeling. For once, nothing seemed to matter and I had let loose. In no time I was on the dance floor dancing away to some strange music and had to be carried out of the bar.

I woke up with a splitting headache and an equally queasy feeling. It seemed as if I were on some kind of fair rides, the whole room was spinning in front of my eyes. All I could remember of the past night was the dancing and hurling hugs and kisses at my friends while telling them how much I loved them. A hot shower and a few cups of coffee brought me back to my senses after which I finally made it to the office only to find out that I had become the biggest hit in the entire facility. Not only had I danced but had even managed to ask a girl out for a date which honestly had I been sober wouldn’t have been able to do. I was suddenly being compared to Raj Koothrappali from The Big Bang Theory. Never had I imagined that a few drinks would turn me into someone I would not like to be when sober.

hangover_1782723b - www.telegraph.co.uk

Everything comes with a price, so did my night at the pub. I’m not denying that it was indeed a great evening but all the drinking had given me a bad hangover because of which my day’s productivity went down and I was called into the manager’s office for the first time since my joining. All I’m saying is, do enjoy yourself but do not let it affect your daily affairs whether at work or at home. I thank my friends for introducing me to this fun loving side, which I had kept hidden for so long. But as they say, all good things must come to an end, so it’s time for me to get back to work till the fun lover and I meet again.

Leave a comment